Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

100422_BuildAHouse_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away five copies of Build A House by Rhiannon Giddens to five lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Written as a song to commemorate the 155th anniversary of Juneteenth—which was originally performed with famed cellist Yo-Yo Ma—and paired here with bold illustrations by painter Monica Mikai, Build a House tells the moving story of a people who would not be moved and the music that sustained them. Steeped in sorrow and joy, resilience and resolve, turmoil and transcendence, this dramatic debut offers a proud view of history and a vital message for readers of all ages: honor your heritage, express your truth, and let your voice soar, even—or perhaps especially—when your heart is heaviest.

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

092022-MerciSuárez-Kidlitgiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Merci Suárez Plays It Cool by Meg Medina to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

For Merci Suárez, eighth grade means a new haircut, nighttime football games, and an out-of-town overnight field trip. At home, it means more chores and keeping an eye on Lolo as his health worsens. It’s a year filled with more responsibility and independence, but also with opportunities to reinvent herself. Whether Merci is facing school drama or changing family dynamics, readers will empathize as she discovers who she can count on—and what can change in an instant—in Meg Medina’s heartfelt conclusion to the trilogy that began with the Newbery Medal–winning novel.

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

091522-AstrologyforBlackGirls-KitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Astrology for Black Girls by Jordannah Elizabeth to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Ever wanted to unlock the secrets of the stars? Astrology for Black Girls is a charming introduction to the wonders of self-discovery and empowerment through the Zodiac. It’s the perfect introduction to the sun, moon, rising signs, and more. Speaking directly to Black girls, author and life-long astrology practitioner Jordannah Elizabeth addresses practicing both faith and astrology, how to talk to friends and family about astrology, and how to use the Zodiac for self-discovery and understanding. Complete with mystical illustrations and practical advice, this book is sure to become an enchanting staple in every young reader’s library!

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

091322_VioletAndJobie_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Violet and Jobie in the Wild by Lynne Rae Perkins to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Newbery Medal winner Lynne Rae Perkins introduces Violet and Jobie, two house mice exiled to the wilderness, in an exceptional read-aloud and read-alone for fans of classic animal stories like Stuart Little.

When sibling mice Violet and Jobie are caught in a trap, the young boy of the family pleads with his mother to release them. Now Violet and Jobie find themselves in tall grasses, under tall trees, surrounded by all kinds of unfamiliar scents and sounds and creatures. How will they survive?

This charming, generously illustrated animal adventure explores themes of friendship, family, bravery, and the meaning of home.

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

090822_MostMagnificent_KidLitGIveaway

We’re giving away three copies of The Most Magnificent Idea by Ashley Spires to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

The Most Magnificent Idea is the story of a girl who loves to make things. Her brain is an “idea machine,” always so full of ideas, she can hardly keep up! But then, one day … it isn’t. She tries brainstorming, gathering new supplies, even jumping up and down on one foot to shake an idea loose. Nothing. What if she never has another idea again?

Readers everywhere will be rooting for their favorite thing-maker to get her mojo back!

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

090122_Crunch_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Crunch by Kayla Miller to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

It’s no secret that Olive loves trying new things. Between taking guitar lessons, making a short film, joining Berry Scouts, and leading the charge on her school’s dress code reform, Olive has her hands full! But she enjoys being busy, so staying on track with her jam-packed schedule should be no problem…right?

As weeks fly by, it gets harder and harder for Olive to find time for her activities, never mind time for herself. Will she be able to accomplish her goals, or will all her sizzle turn to fizzle?

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

083022_HipposGoBerserk_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Hippos Go Berserk! by Sandra Boynton to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

From the one and only Sandra Boynton comes an all-new deluxe edition of the picture book that started it all: Hippos Go Berserk! Celebrated for 45 wild years, this modern classic has been completely redrawn and redesigned by Boynton for a new generation of readers (and hippos.) And don’t worry—the board book version (first published in 1996) is still alive and well!

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

082522_Enemies_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Enemies by Svetlana Chmakova to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Rrrring! Class is back in session. Enemies, the latest in the bestselling graphic novel Berrybrook Middle School series, is author Svetlana Chmakova’s love letter to all those who try and fail and try again, but especially to fellow chaos energy kids out there and those who hold them up. Getting through middle school is a lot easier with a good friend group! But what if that group is falling apart? Is there a glue for that?

Felicity’s sure she’s going to do something big. Exactly what is still a mystery, but she’ll figure it out. Her sister teases that she never finishes stuff, but that’s just because Letty is so perfect. Still, life is good with plenty of friends―drawing with the art club and playing games with her buddies keep her busy. But when she decides to join a contest to show Letty that she CAN get things done, Felicity begins to wonder if friends becoming enemies is easier than she thought. Are they really enemies, though? What does it even mean to be enemies?

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

081622_WhatABlast_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of What a Blast! by Julie Winterbottom, illustrated by Clau Souza, to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Con-fart-ulations! You’ve found the book that confirms your fine appreciation for the fact that nothings funnier than a little pfffftt from someone’s butt. Cheerfully over-the-top, packed with activities, and grounded in the science of flatulence, What a Blast! Is a trip through the body’s digestive system to explore the whys, hows, and wherefores of farting. You’ll discover the fartiest food in the world, meet infamous farters from history, learn just what to say if you fart in public—“Yeah, you heard me!—and so much more! Recommended for ages 6+.

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways

080422_FenrisMott_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of Fenris & Mott by Greg van Eekhout to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

A girl and her puppy face down the end of the world—which the puppy’s partly responsible for—in this middle grade story from acclaimed author Greg van Eekhout and perfect for fans of Gordan Korman and John David Anderson.