Categories
Giveaways Uncategorized

051722-HarlequinEAC-Giveaways

Categories
Insiders Uncategorized

Epic Updates: May 16, 2022

Hello, Epic Insiders! May your books be plentiful and the right mix of escapist, engaging, and enlightening. No announcements this week, so let’s dive right in.

What Are You Reading?

Reading friends!

This weekend was… a lot. I hope everyone is doing okay with everything going on.

Book Lovers by Emily Henry cover

I did get some reading in towards the beginning of the weekend, somehow. I made a lot of progress with Book Lovers, which has some of the best banter between characters I’ve seen in a while. Case in point (remember, the main character is widely seen as being kind of cold):

“You seem pretty pleased with yourself,” he says, “for a woman who just found out she was the inspiration for Cruella de Vil.” I scowl at him. Charlie rolls his eyes. “Come on. I’ll buy you a martini. Or a puppy coat.”

A read! I’m also really liking how Nora and her sister Libby’s childhood is being unfolded. We’re seeing how differently Nora viewed their childhood struggles compared to Libby, and the issues they have in their sibling relationship are just starting to come to the surface. Sibling issues are an interesting addition to a romance for me, and I think a lot of what is in the book rings true for many. There’s also a bit of a mystery surrounding some of Libby’s behavior that I’m looking forward to getting to the bottom of.

As far as the other books I’ve mentioned, I haven’t made too much progress with Chinua Achebe’s Collected Poems , or The Children on the Hill, but did start and read all of the available chapters of Chainsaw Man by Tatsuki Fujimoto. It’s about a teen, Denji, whose dad died leaving him in debt to the yakuza. To pay it off, and stave off hunger, he works for them as a devil hunter. As a hunter, he kills “devils,” which are physical manifestations of what people fear. To save his life, he ends up needing to make a contract with his pet devil dog Pochita, which grants him strength and the ability to turn parts of his body into chainsaws. Yes, it is super on the nose and a little campy, but it was pretty enjoyable I think. It was a super wild ride and I’m curious to see how its adaptation will turn out since its release is so highly anticipated.

What have you been reading? Click through to add your reading list to the comments!

-Erica

Categories
Giveaways Uncategorized

050722_TheAgathas_OSGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of The Agathas by Kathleen Glasgow and Liz Lawson to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Who killed Brooke Donovan? It’s the biggest mystery of the summer, and everyone in Castle Cove thinks it’s the wrong guy. Unlikely friends Alice and Iris are out to find who really killed Brooke—but the town of Castle Cove holds many secrets, and Alice and Iris have no idea how much danger they’re about to walk into. Fans of One of Us Is Lying and Riverdale can’t miss this page-turning who-done-it that’s sure to be the next must read Young Adult thriller!

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways Uncategorized

050522_PrinceOfNowhere_KidLitGiveaway

We’re giving away five copies of The Prince of Nowhere by Rochelle Hassan to five lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Roda isn’t afraid of the monsters that roam the wilds of the Aerlands. But when she rescues an injured crow on the instruction of her secret pen pal, Anonymous, she’s surprised to learn she’s brought one of the so-called monsters home. Because her crow is really a shape-shifting boy named Ignis.

Ignis doesn’t remember where he was going before he crashed. But Anonymous brought him and Roda together for a reason—and the only way to find out what Anonymous wants is to follow the trail of baffling clues in Roda’s letters.

Categories
Giveaways Uncategorized

050222-FriendshipPact-OS:Giveaway

We’re giving away three Advance Reader Copies of The Friendship Pact by Jill Shalvis, plus three copies of book one in The Sunrise Cove series, The Family You Make by Jill Shalvis, to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Alone in the world, Tae Holmes and her mother April pretty much raised each other, but as Tae starts asking questions about the father she’s never met, April, for the first time in her life, goes silent. To make matters worse, Tae soon finds herself face-to-face with Riggs Copeland. She hasn’t seen the former Marine since their brief fling in high school, and while still intensely drawn to him, she likes her past burned and buried, thank you very much. Hence their friendship pact.
But when April oddly refuses to help Tae track down her father, it’s Riggs who unexpectedly comes to her aid. On a hunt to unlock the past, the two of them find themselves on a wild ride and learn a shocking truth, while also reluctantly bonding in a way neither had seen coming.

Categories
Giveaways Uncategorized

040622_OurLady_OSGiveaway

We’re giving away five copies of Our Lady of Mysterious Ailments by T.L. Huchu to five lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

When Ropa Moyo discovered an occult underground library, she expected great things. Instead of getting paid to work magic, however, she’s had to accept a crummy unpaid internship. And her with bills to pay and a pet fox to feed. Then her friend Priya offers her a job on the side. Priya works at Our Lady of Mysterious Maladies, a very specialized hospital, where a new illness is resisting magical and medical remedies alike. Her sleuthing will lead her to a lost fortune, an avenging spirit and a secret buried deep in Scotland’s past.

Categories
Canada Giveaways Uncategorized

022522_ThisMightHurt_CAGiveaway

We’re giving away three copies of This Might Hurt by Stephanie Wrobel to three lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

From the national and USA TODAY bestselling author of Darling Rose Gold comes a dark, thrilling novel about two sisters—one trapped in the clutches of a cult, the other in a web of her own lies.

Categories
Kid Lit Giveaways Uncategorized

121421_DaughteroftheDeep_KidLitOSGiveaway

We’re giving away five copies of Daughter of the Deep by Rick Riordan to five lucky Riot readers!

Enter here for a chance to win, or click the image below!

Ana is a freshman at Harding-Pencroft Academy, a high school that graduates the worlds best marine scientists, and underwater explorers. Ana’s parents died while on a scientific expedition two years ago, and the only family she’s got left is her brother. Ana’s freshman year culminates with the class’s weekend trial at sea, the details of which have been kept secret. She only hopes she has what it’ll take to succeed. All her worries are blown out of the water when, on the bus ride to the ship, Ana and her schoolmates witness a terrible tragedy that will change their lives.

Categories
Uncategorized

103121-Internal:OS:Giveaway

We’re giving away one copy of Louise Erdrich’s new book The Sentence to one lucky reader!

Enter here for a chance, or click the image below!

From National Book Award winner Louise Erdrich: Revolving around a small independent bookstore in contemporary Minneapolis, The Sentence follows a turbulent year in the life of a strong though vulnerable Ojibwe woman named Tookie.
After serving part of an outrageously long sentence, Tookie, who “learned to read with murderous attention” while in prison, naturally gravitates toward working at a bookstore. There she joins a dedicated community of artists and book lovers and begins to build a new life for herself.

Categories
Uncategorized

102121-BookClubbishEAC-Giveaways